Speeding Tickets Attorney in Georgia
Fight Your Ticket to Avoid Points on Your License
While speeding tickets may not seem like a big deal in the moment, getting a ticket can actually have far-reaching consequences. In addition to fees and fines, you may be facing higher insurance premiums and points on your license. Because the State of GA has five Interstate Highways (I-95, I-85, I-75, I-20 and I-16) that are patrolled by the Georgia State Patrol and local county and city police departments, thousands of traffic tickets are issued to drivers using GA's highways on a weekly basis.
At McIlhinney Law Group, we represent clients in traffic courts all over the state of Georgia and our Georgia speeding ticket lawyer has successfully fought thousands of speeding tickets! Our goal is always to keep the ticket off of your driving record without you having to appear at court and ensure that you can move forward with no impact on your car insurance or driving record! Attorney Sean J. McIlhinney has earned the well deserved reputation as one of GA's best traffic ticket attorneys with a proven 20+ year track record of excellence!
Don’t pay your speeding ticket yet! First, call McIlhinney Law Group at (404) 724-5461.
Point Categories for Speeding Tickets in Georgia
Like many other states, Georgia uses a point system to categorize speeding tickets. The category of the speeding ticket determines how many points are assigned to an individual’s driving record. Points on your license can result in higher insurance premiums. If you amass too many points, your driver’s license could be suspended.
Georgia’s categories for points on a license for speeding tickets include:
- 1 point – Texting while driving
- 2 points – For speeding tickets about 14 mph but less than 19 mph over the speed limit
- 3 points – For speeds of 19 to 23 mph over the speed limit
- 4 points – For speeding tickets of 24 to 33 mph over the speed limit
- 6 points – For going 34 mph or more above the speed limit
If you accrue 15 points or more in a 24-month period, your driver’s license will be suspended. Keep in mind that other traffic violations can also result in points on your license. The state will notify you if your driver’s license is suspended.
Is Driving Barefoot Illegal in Georgia?
It is not illegal to drive barefoot in Georgia or in any state in the U.S. However, you could open yourself to liability if you choose to drive without shoes and get into a car accident. You could get a reckless driving charge if the police determine that your driving barefoot contributed to the wreck. This could lead to a distracted driving ticket if you were trying to put your shoes on.
In addition to the typical penalties for speeding, Georgia has a Super Speeder law. This law defines super speeding as driving at speeds above 75 mph on a two-lane road or above 85 mph on any road or highway. The penalties for super speeding are in addition to other fines and fees. The Super Speeder fee is $200 on top of the amount on the ticket. If you don’t pay within 120 days, your license will be suspended and you will have to pay an additional reinstatement fee.
If you were ticketed for speeding or super speeding, call (404) 724-5461 for legal representation.